Division Best Paper Award

Division Best Paper Award

2019 Recipients
Distribution & Plant Operations Division
“Lead Service Lines: Management and Public Perception in 21 Utilities”
Elise Deshommes, Graham A. Gagnon. Robert C. Andrews, and Michèle Prévost
Engineering & Construction Division
“Use of High-Frequency Data to Detect Household Leaks as Event Outliers” 
John P. McCary and James P. Heaney 
Management & Leadership Division
“Measuring Household Affordability for Water and Sewer Utilities”
Manuel P. Teodoro
Water Quality & Technology Division
“Impact of Combined Chlorination and Chloramination Conditions on N-Nitrosodimethylamine Formation” 
Stuart W. Krasner, Chih Fen Tiffany Lee, William A. Mitch and Urs Von Gunten
Water Resource Sustainability Division
“A Cyanotoxin Primer for Drinking Water Professionals”
Judy A. Westrick and David Szlag
Water Science & Research Division
“Occurrence of Legionella in Nonpotable Reclaimed Water” 
William J. Johnson, Patrick K. Jjemba, Zia Bukhari, and Mark W. LeChevallier


Award Criteria

Purpose of the Award: To recognize annually the author(s) of outstanding papers from each AWWA Technical and Education (TEC) Division published in AWWA Water Science from January through December of the previous year.

The Award: A Division Best Paper Plaque.

Frequency of the Award: Annually.

Eligibility for the Award: All peer-reviewed papers published in AWWA Water Science, with at least one author who is an AWWA member at the time of publication are eligible.

Entry Requirements: All papers eligible for the award are automatically considered.

Nomination Procedures: Because all papers meeting the eligibility requirements are considered for the award, there are no nomination procedures.

Division Award Committee Membership: The TEC Division chair shall appoint three members, subject to concurrence by the Division Board of Trustees, to serve as the Division award committee. The TEC Division chair is authorized to appoint a replacement for any committee member who has conflict of interest.

Method of Selecting Best Paper: The staff shall categorize all eligible papers and assign them to the responsible Division awards committees. Each division awards committee shall rate papers assigned to it. The titles of the papers are ranked and submitted by the TEC Division award committee chair to AWWA staff before January 15. The top-rated paper from each TEC Division is forwarded to the Publications Award Committee for selection of the Publications Award.

Presentation of the Award: The TEC Division Best Paper awards will be presented for each TEC Division’s top-rated paper at the Awards Session at the American Water Works Association Annual Conference and Exposition.