Division Best Article Award

Division Best Article Award

2024 Recipients

Distribution & Plant Operations Division

Hamilton Proative Leak Detection

"Hamilton’s Proactive Leak Detection Improves Infrastructure and Water Quality," 2023
Dave Alberton, Mike Sbranchella

Engineering & Construction Division

Estabilishing levels of service

"Establishing Levels of Service as the Foundation of Utility Asset Management," 2023
Barry Buchanan, Frank Roth, Erin McLachlan Sanchez, Dinorah Sánchez, Kurt Vause, Andy Yang, Craig Paul Omundsen, Martin Jones, Kevin V. Campanella, Celine Hyer, Heather Himmelberger

Management & Leadership Division

Troubled Utilities Seeing the way forward

"Troubled Utilities: Seeing the Way Forward," 2023
John Young

Water Conservation Division

Conservation Potential

The Conservation Potential of Smart Irrigation Controllers for Over-Irrigators. 2023
Nicholas Taylor, Connor Atkinson, Kaitlin Robb Price, Parker Johnson, Bradley Spatz

Water Quality & Technology Division

Benton Harbor

"Benton Harbor: From Lead Crisis to Lead-Free," 2023
Elin Warn Betanzo, Edward Pinkney, Danielle Land

Water Science & Research Division

Research Collaborations with Water and Wastewater Utilities

"Research Collaborations with Water and Wastewater Utilities," 2023
Hunter Adams, Adam Eyring, John Albert, Adam Hendricks, Rasheed Ahmad, Andrea Wyatt, Baris Kaymak, Keisuke Ikehata, Siavash Isazadeh, Laith Furatian, Bina Nayak, John Norton, Daniel Horne

Award Criteria

Purpose of the Award: To recognize annually the author(s) of outstanding articles from each AWWA Technical and Education (TEC) Division published in Journal AWWA from January through December of the previous year.

The Award: A Division Best Article Plaque.

Frequency of the Award: Annually.

Eligibility for the Award: All peer-reviewed articles published in Journal AWWA, with at least one author who is an AWWA member at the time of publication are eligible.

Entry Requirements: All articles eligible for the award are automatically considered.

Nomination Procedures: Because all articles meeting the eligibility requirements are considered for the award, there are no nomination procedures.

Division Award Committee Membership: The TEC Division chair shall appoint three members, subject to concurrence by the Division Board of Trustees, to serve as the Division award committee. The TEC Division chair is authorized to appoint a replacement for any committee member who has conflict of interest.

Method of Selecting Best Article: The staff shall categorize all eligible articles and assign them to the responsible Division awards committees. Each division awards committee shall rate articles assigned to it. The titles of the articles are ranked and submitted by the TEC Division award committee chair to AWWA staff before January 15. The top-rated article from each TEC Division is forwarded to the Publications Award Committee for selection of the Publications Award.

Presentation of the Award: The TEC Division Best Article awards will be presented for each TEC Division’s top-rated article at the Awards Session at the American Water Works Association Annual Conference and Exposition.

Past Recipients


Water Conservation
“Statistical Estimates of Water Savings From Landscape Transformation Programs,” AWWA Water Science, January 2020
— Thomas W. Chesnutt

Water Science & Research
“Impact of Model Selection on Predicted Contaminant Degradation in Water Treatment,” AWWA Water Science, June 2020
— Alexander S. Gorzalski, Gregory W. Harrington, and Orlando Coronell

Water Resource Sustainability
“Health Risks From Protozoa in Potable Reuse: Implications of Florida’s Data Set,” AWWA Water Science, October 2020
— David MacNevin and Greta Zornes

Water Quality Technology
“Considerations for Large Building Water Quality After Extended Stagnation,” AWWA Water Science, June 2020
— Caitlin R. Proctor, William J. Rhoads, Tim Keane, Maryam Salehi, Kerry Hamilton, Kelsey J. Pieper, David M. Cwiertny, Michele Prévost, and Andrew J. Whelton

Distribution & Plant Operations
“Validation of Water Main Failure Predictions: A 2‐Year Case Study,” AWWA Water Science, May 2020 Engineering & Construction Raja Kammoun, Simon Barrette, Françoise Bichai, Sarah Dorner, and Michèle Prévost: “A Hydrocarbon Pipeline Spill Risk Assessment Framework for Drinking Water Supply,” AWWA Water Science, July 2020
— Christopher Kahn, Aaron Damiani, and Shaoqing Ge

Management & Leadership
“Water and Sewer Affordability in the United States: A 2019 Update,” AWWA Water Science, April 2020
— Manuel P. Teodoro and Robin Rose Saywitz

Small System Division (Authors submitting to AWWA's Opflow)
Manuel P. Teodoro and Robin Rose Saywitz