Wendell LaDue Utility Safety Award

Wendell LaDue Utility Safety Award


2022 Recipients 

Class I – Illinois American Water – Godfrey Wastewater
Class III - Eugene Water and Electric Board
Class IV - Las Vegas Valley Water District

Award Criteria

Purpose of the award: The award, established in honor of Wendell R. LaDue, is presented to recognize distinguished water utility safety programs.

Wendell R. LaDue was born in Ohio in 1895 and graduated from the University of Southern California. After serving in the U.S. Navy, he began work in the Akron, Ohio, Water Department as a draftsman in 1919, and retired as Superintendent and Chief Engineer in 1961.

In fact, the largest reservoir in the upper Cuyahoga watershed in Ohio was named in his honor. A quick-spoken speaker, LaDue was highly regarded and sought after for his sense of humor, knowledge and insight. LaDue worked hard for the water industry, and in addition to serving as an AWWA President from 1946 to 1947, he was a committee member or chairman for various engineering societies and the National Safety Council.

The award: Wendell R. LaDue Utility Safety Award Plaque.

Frequency of the award: One award annually in each of four classes: (I)--Utilities with fewer than 10 employees; (II)--10-100 employees; (III)--100-500 employees and (IV)--over 500 employees.

Eligibility for the award: Nomination by the section in which the utility is located.

Entry requirements:  Submission of completed:
AWWA Wendell R. LaDue Utility Safety Award- Candidate Nomination Form & Supplemental Data Sheet 
Information submitted must be pre-approved by the Section or Section Safety Chair. Submitted information will not be returned, and nominations that are submitted without the required information will be disqualified.

Nomination procedure: The Section or Section Safety Chair selects one nominee in each of the four classes, based on information outlined in the “AWWA Wendell R. LaDue Utility Safety Award- Supplemental Data Sheet".  The Chair will complete a Candidate Nomination Form and  Supplemental Data Sheet and email it to awards@awwa.org 

Nominating or submission deadline: February 14.

Award committee membership: The AWWA Health Safety & Environment Committee serves as the award committee

Method of selecting award recipient: The award committee reviews section nominees and selects from among those nominations the nominee with the most impressive safety record from each class to receive the award. Evaluations will be based on the utilities safety  for the past five years,  safety and health program best practices, and answers to the specific questions on the Supplemental Data Sheet.  Finalist may be interviewed at the award committee’s discretion.

Presentation of the award: The official AWWA representative present at the nominating section's annual meeting presents the award to the winning utility.  

Past Recipients

2021 Recipients 

Class I - City of Louisville Water Treatment Plant
Class III - Eugene Water and Electric Board
Class IV - Las Vegas Valley Water District