Academic Achievement Award

Academic Achievement Award

The submission deadline for 2024 awards is extended until November 1, 2023.

2023 Recipients

Doctoral Dissertation – First Place 

Yian Chen, University of California, Los Angeles, California-Nevada Section

Doctoral Dissertation – Second Place 

Irene Garousi-Nejad , Utah State University, Intermountain Section

Master’s Thesis – First Place 

Padmanabhan Krishnaswamy, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, California-Nevada Section

Master’s Thesis – Second Place 


Berkley Anderson, University of California, Davis, California-Nevada Section

The Academic Achievement Award encourages academic excellence by recognizing contributions to the field of public water supply. All masters thesis and doctoral dissertations that are relevant to the water supply industry are eligible. The manuscript must reflect the work of a single author and be submitted during the competition year in which it was submitted for the degree.

First year awarded – 1966
Through 1979 – first, second and sometimes third place awards were given
Beginning in 1980 – first and second place for Masters theses and doctoral dissertation were given

The deadline to apply is October 1 annually. 

Doctoral Dissertation— First Place is $3,000 one-time award; Second Place is $1,500 one-time award

Masters Thesis— First Place is $3,000 one-time award; Second Place is $1,500 one-time award

Application Instructions: Please submit a .pdf of your thesis or dissertation using the form below. Please attach a letter of endorsement from the instructor or major professor under whom your research work was performed.


Also attach a one-page abstract indicating the significance of your thesis or dissertation to the water supply industry.



  • Filename