Volunteer of the Year Award

Volunteer of the Year Award

John Donahue

2023 Recipient

John J. Donahue

Award Criteria


Purpose of the Award: To recognize and honor an individual AWWA member who has advanced AWWA Denver or D.C. through his/her volunteer time and efforts and has been a support to AWWA staff.

The Award: An exquisite sculpture that embodies the essence of accomplishment and serve as a testament to the recipient's dedication and contributions. Each Volunteer of the Year award is accompanied by a personalized inscribed nameplate to honor and preserve the recipient's name and accomplishment.

Frequency of the Award: Annually

Eligibility for the Award: An individual who has met one or several of the requirements outlined:

  1. Interacted with a variety of staff groups
  2. Provided long term exceptional service to AWWA
  3. Performed a single action that has a large impact on AWWA
  4. Advanced AWWA mission through talent and service

Entry Requirements: Complete the Entry Form provided.

Nomination Procedures: Any AWWA Denver and DC staff member can nominate a volunteer.  Nominations should be either emailed or forwarded to American Water Works Association, Attn:  Executive Dept., 6666 W. Quincy Avenue, Denver, CO 80235.

Nomination or Submission Deadline: Nominations must be received by November 1 to be assured of receiving full consideration.

Award Committee Membership: The award committee will be comprised of the Council Staff Advisors, Chief Membership Officer, and the Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Denver. The Chief Executive Officer will vote in case of a tie.

Method of Selecting Award Recipient:  The award committee will use a rating scale based on the criteria outlined on the rating form. The committee selects a candidate based on the candidates’ ratings and reports its nominee to the Board of Directors for approval at its winter meeting.

Presentation of the Award: The award will be presented at the American Water Works Association Annual Conference and Exposition or at another appropriate event.

Past Recipients

Leslie Scott

Brent Alspach, California–Nevada and New York Sections

Mark Coleman, Wade Trim Associates, Inc., Detroit, MI

Larry Thomas, Illinois Section

Sally Mills-Wright, Texas Section

Chuck Van Der Kolk, Michigan Section

Dr. Chi Ho Sham, NEWWA, A Section of AWWA

David D. Weihrauch, Ohio Section

Jeanne Bennett-Bailey, Virginia Section

Robert Cheng, California/Nevada Section

Dr. Joseph Jacangelo, Virginia Section

Dr. Fred Bloetscher, Florida Section