Publications Award

Publications Award

2023 Recipients:

"Potable Reuse and PFAS," Journal AWWA, December 2022

Viraj deSilva

Viraj deSilva

Justas Rutkauskas

Justas Rutkauskas

Award Criteria

Purpose of the Award: To annually recognize and honor the most notable contribution, scientific or practical, to the public water supply profession as published in the Journal AWWA of the American Water Works Association.

The Award: An exquisite sculpture that embodies the essence of accomplishment and serve as a testament to the recipient's dedication and contributions. Each Publications award is accompanied by a personalized inscribed nameplate to honor and preserve the recipient's name and accomplishment.

Frequency of the Award: Annually.

Eligibility for the Award: At least one of the authors must be an AWWA member at the time of publication and the article must be peer-reviewed.

Entry Requirements: The highest rated paper from each division as determined by the division award committees and published in the Journal AWWA during the previous calendar year.

Nomination Procedure: The Publications Award Committee reviews and rates the highest rated paper of each division published in the Journal AWWA during the previous calendar year. The single paper receiving the highest rating is nominated to receive the AWWA Publications Award and is submitted to the AWWA Executive Committee for its approval.

Nomination or Submission Deadline: The division award committees are to submit the highest rated paper to staff by November 1st.  

Publications Award Committee Membership: The committee shall consist of four members, each appointed by the chair of the Technical & Educational Council, subject to Council approval, for a three-year term in successive years and may serve two three-year terms. The chair shall be appointed by the Technical & Educational Council chair.  A committee member, who is an author or co-author of a nominated paper, shall take a leave of absence from the committee until the winning paper has been declared by the committee. The immediate past chair of the committee will be asked to participate in the ratings. If an immediate past chair is not available, the chair of the Technical & Educational Council will appoint a member.

Ineligible to participate on this committee are current members of the TEC Division Boards of Trustees, as they participate in the Division Best Paper Award judging process.

Method of Selecting Award Recipient: Papers will be evaluated on the basis of the impact on water and public health benefits for both research and applications; timeliness of the contribution; and professional and editorial quality of the paper.

The AWWA Publications Award Committee shall select a potential author and submit the name to the AWWA Executive Committee for final approval.

Presentation of the Award: Awards will be presented at the Opening General Session of American Water Works Association Annual Conference and Exposition.

Past Recipients


"Lessons from the first year of compliance sampling under Michigan's revised Lead and Copper Rule and national Lead and Copper Rule implications," AWWA Water Science, December 2021

Division: Water Quality Technology Division
Elin Betanzo, Corwin Rhyan, and Mona Hanna-Attisha


“Considerations for Large Building Water Quality After Extended Stagnation,” AWWA Water Science, June 2020

Caitlin R. Proctor, William J. Rhoads, Tim Keane, Maryam Salehi, Kerry Hamilton, Kelsey J. Pieper, David M. Cwiertny, Michele Prévost, and Andrew J. Whelton