Outstanding Service to AWWA Award

Outstanding Service to AWWA Award

Sandy Smith

2024 Recipient

Sandy Smith

Award Criteria


Purpose of the Award
: To recognize individuals who may be members or non-members of the American Water Works Association that have demonstrated outstanding service to the Association through leadership and active participation in AWWA programs.

The Award: An exquisite sculpture that embodies the essence of accomplishment and serve as a testament to the recipient's dedication and contributions. Each Outstanding Service to AWWA award is accompanied by a personalized inscribed nameplate to honor and preserve the recipient's name and accomplishment.

Frequency of the Award: Annually or as deserved.

Eligibility for the Award: AWWA membership and outstanding service to AWWA for a period of at least 10 years.

Entry Requirements: Any member or section wishing to nominate an individual for this award should submit an entry form and biographical information outlining his/her outstanding achievements to the American Water Works Association, Attn:  Executive Dept., 6666 W. Quincy Avenue, Denver, CO 80235 or by email.

Nomination Procedures: The Outstanding Service to AWWA Award Committee shall select by ballot and nominate the most deserving member who has rendered outstanding service and leadership to the Association for the consideration of the Board of Directors. Nominees may remain under consideration for up to three years. Sections will be notified if their nominee has not been selected within that time. If the candidate is not re-nominated, his/her name will be dropped from the list. A candidate may be re-nominated.

Nomination or Submission Deadline: Nominations must be received by November 1 to be assured of receiving full consideration.

Award Committee Membership: The award committee shall consist of the last five (5) Past Presidents with the most recent Past President serving as chair.

Method of Selecting Award Recipient: The committee selects a candidate for the award and reports its nominee to the Board of Directors for approval at its winter meeting. 

Presentation of the Award: The award will be presented at the American Water Works Association Annual Conference and Exposition or at another appropriate event.

Past Recipients


2023     Mary Gugliuzza, City of Forth Worth Water Utility
2022     Janice Skadsen
2021     Daniel Nix, Texas Section
2020     Mike Howe, Texas Section
2019     Mark Knudson, Pacific Northwest Section
2018     Gary Lynch, California/Nevada Section
2017     Rod Holme, OWWA, A Section of AWWA
2016      Katie McCain
2015     Charles Vanderkolk 
2014     Anthony Terrell (Terry) Rolan
2013     Andy Richardson
2012     Robert F. Willis
2011     Jeanne-Marie Bruno
2010     David J. Rexing
2009     Jack W. Hoffbuhr
2008     William A. Kelley
2007     Elisa M. Speranza
2006     Raymond C. Miller
2005     Tom R. Pearson
2004     Kay Kutchins
2003     James S. McInerney
2002     Rocky D. Wiley
2001     Richard P. McHugh
2000     Vernon D. Lucy III
1999     Robert H. Reinert
1998     Robert L. Wubbena
1997     Foster S. Burba
1996     John B. Mannion
1995     George M. Haskew Jr.
1994     Frederick H. Elwell
1993     John H. Robinson
1992     Archie E. Becher Jr.
1991     Steven Bonk
1990     William H. Miller

1989     Jerome B. Gilbert
1988     William H. Richardson
1987     Thomas J. Blair III
1986     No award presented
1985     Donald K. Shine
1984     Kenneth J. Miller
1983     Joseph O'Grady
1982     Grant A. Colton
1981     Eric F. Johnson
1980     Fred A. Eidsness
1979     Gordon G. Robeck
1978     Robert B. Hilbert
1977     George E. Symons
1976     Norbert J. Davoust
1975     Victor A. Appleyard
1974     Henry J. Ongerth
1973     Vance Lischer
1972     Paul D. Haney
1971     William Aultman
1970     Henry J. Graeser, Jr.
1969     Samuel Serson Baxter
1968     Herbert E. Hudson, Jr.
1967     Joseph M. Sanchis
1966     Thurston E. Larson
1965     N. T. Veatch
1964     Michael J. Taras
1963     Raymond Johns Faust
1962     John Robert Baylis
1961     Lewis Spann Finch
1960     Edward Shaw Cole
1959     Fred Merryfield
1958     Ray Lyle Derby
1957     John Huey Murdoch Jr.
1956     Fred Guyon Gordon
1955     Alvin Percy Black
1954     William John Orchard

1953     James E. Kerslake
1952     Ernest W. Whitlock
1951     Wendell Richard LaDue
1950     Joseph Philip Schwada
1949     Harry Andrew Faber
1948     Asbury Clinton Decker
1947     Ellsworth Lincoln Filby
1946     James Clarke Harding
1945     No award presented
1944     Louis Richard Howson
1943     Earl Devendorf
1942     Samuel Frank Newkirk Jr.
1941     William Whitehead Hurlbut
1940     William Victor Weir
1939     Hallett Francis Smith
1938     William Curtis Mabee
1937     Abel Wolman
1936     Harry Edward Jordan
1935     Linn Harrison Enslow
1934     Leonard Percy Wood
1933     Samuel Brooks Morris
1932     William Whitlock Brush
1931     Malcolm Pirnie
1930     Ross Leonard Dobbin
1929     James Edwin Gibson
1928     Willard Samuel Cramer
1927     Arthur Ellsworth Gorman
1926    George Warren Fuller