Outstanding Young Professional Award

5 Under 35 – Outstanding Young Professional Award

Image Alt Text

Chelsea Boozer

Image Alt Text

Ashley Kent

Image Alt Text

Renee Lanza

Image Alt Text

Lauren Schuld

Image Alt Text

Tom Woodcock

Purpose of the Award: To recognize and honor young professional members of AWWA who have demonstrated outstanding service to their Section or Association through leadership and active participation in AWWA YP programs.

The Award: A blue droplet glass award with base featuring the AWWA logo and recipient’s name.

Frequency of the Award: Five recipients annually, as deserved.

Eligibility for the Award: An AWWA member who is a young professional and who has actively pursued the advancement of young professionals in the water industry through engagement in student and YP events and activities and by representing students and young professionals’ interests throughout the AWWA organization. The individual must be under 35 years of age and an AWWA member at the time of the nomination.

Entry Requirements: Submit full name and address and a summary of the nominee's contribution to AWWA YP’s on the entry form provided.

Nomination Procedures: A nomination for the award may be submitted by using the electronic application below by a Section Young Professionals Committee (with Section Board approval), the Association Young Professionals Committee, or by Professional Staff of AWWA or a Section. All nominations will go to the award committee for consideration.

Nomination or Submission Deadline: Nominations must be received no later than October 1 to receive full consideration.

Award Committee Membership: The award committee shall consist of the Immediate Past-President as committee chair, the chairs of the six councils, and the Association Young Professionals Committee Chair.

Method of Selecting Award Recipient: The award committee shall select by ballot up to five recipients from the list of potential candidates and submit the names of the selected persons to the Executive Committee for approval at its winter meeting.

Presentation of the Award: The award will be presented at the American Water Works Association Annual Conference and Exposition.


2021 Recipients

Jeff Blakely, Rocky Mountain and Pacific Northwest Sections
Jihyon Im, NEWWA, a Section of AWWA
Amanda Jones, Arizona Section
John Logan, Texas Section
Robert Parks, Missouri Section