Annual Conference & Exposition


June 11-14 | Exposition: June 12-14 | MANDALAY BAY CONVENTION CENTER| LAS VEGAS | USA

Hydrant Hysteria Logo

Congratulations to the 2018 winners

  • First: City of Virginia Beach, Virginia Section, 1:14.10
  • Second. City of Sacramento, California/Nevada Secton, 1:25.57
  • Third: City of Des Plaines, Illinois Section, 1:30.78



2018 Hydrant Hysteria Presenting Sponsor

Hydrant Hysteria Hall of Fame

2017 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 
Hydrant Used: M&H 129 Hydrant
First: Bloomington Blue Birds, City of Bloomington, Minnesota Section, 1:33:60
Second. Sacramento Hydromaniacs, City of Sacramento Dept. of Utilities, California - Nevada Section, 1:35:69
Third: Midnight Hydrant Repair, Milwaukee Water Works, Wisconsin Section, 1:58:97


Hydrant Hysteria FAQ's

What is Hydrant Hysteria?
Hydrant Hysteria is a fast-paced competition where two-member teams assemble a specified hydrant as quickly as they can.

Where is it held?
Hydrant Hysteria Competitions are often held during AWWA Section Conferences. The national-level of this Competition is conducted at AWWA's Annual Conference and Exposition.

Who is eligible to enter?
One two-member team may participate from each Section. In addition, the local host may send a second team. In the case of more than one local host, only one team may enter from the locality. In addition, each team member must be an individual, active, operations member of AWWA or a regular employee of a utility member or organization member. Each participating team represents an AWWA Section.

How can the Section winner enter the national Hydrant Hysteria Competition?
Each two-person team must pre-register for the national Hydrant Hysteria Competition using an online registration form. Please register by the deadline provided so that the competition coordinators can accommodate all teams.

Must Competitors register for the Conference?
No, it is not necessary for competitors to register for the entire conference unless they plan to attend professional sessions, etc. Complimentary exhibit hall badges will be provided to participants so they can gain admittance to the hall on the day of the competition.

What is the prize?
A plaque or trophy will be awarded to the 1st- and 2nd- place winners at the national-level contest. The 1st place team will have their expenses reimbursed to compete in the following year's contest at the AWWA Annual Conference, subject to AWWA expense policies.

What brand of hydrants are used?

Sponsoring manufacturers and the Hydrant Hysteria Subcommittee determine the yearly hydrant featured. This hydrant is specified on the Hydrant Hysteria web page.

Thank you to the 2018 InKind Material Sponsor for their contributions to the AWWA Operator competition.

Clow Valve - hydrants

Team Name  Entrants Section  Utility
 Bloomington Gladiators-Returning Champions  Chad Bauer & Justin Johnson Minnesota Bloomington Utilities
Magic City Mechanics Dusty Murphy, Jordan White & Christopher Swiney Alabama/Mississippi Birmingham Water Works 
Gillespie Bros  Herb Banks, Dave Gillespie & Ross Gillespie Indiana  Fort Wayne City Utilities
The Majestic Beasts  Steven Munkelwitz & Daniel Arnst Minnesota  City of Chaska
Cutters Brian Burton, Michael Schmid & Tony LoVerde Illinios City of Des Plaines
Midnight Hydrant Assassins Aaron Anderson & Ian Cira Wisconsin  
MPW Lenard Sinclair & Tyler Thames South Carolina  Mount Pleasant Water Works
City of Battle Creek Ben Blanair & Ivan Scovel Michigan  City of Battle Creek
Sacramento Hydromaniacs Ramazan Sumovic, Arnoldo Herrera and Cesar Limon California/Nevada City of Sacramento Water Department
Louisiana Water Dogs Donald Felix, Rodney Dugas, and Eugene Broussard Southwest Lafayette Utility Systems
 Sin City Sirens Doa Meade, Yanina Pililaau, and Janet Savage California/Nevada Las Vegas Valley Water District
 Royal Flush Sarah Tornes & Janelle Boelter California/Nevada Las Vegas Valley Water District
 No Name Given Sam Loy, Joel Zakorczeny & Michael Franks  Ohio Toledo Water District
 Bristol County Water David DaSilva & Nicholas Deveau New England Bristol County Water
 Genessee Valley BMFs Kirk Vanderbilt & Christopher Buckley New York Village of Avon and Village of Caledonia
 Hard Corr Shane Carroll, Bobby Hepner & Alfredo Vences Texas City of Round Rock
 City of Virginia Beach Michael Sherwood II Virginia City of Virginia Beach 
 City of Brentwood Ben Murdock, Jim Howard & Jameson Lozano California/Nevada City of Brentwood
 White Water (Southbridge)  Zachary Pollone & Steven Blanchard    New England  White Water, Inc.
 Namaste  Cameron Hermsen, Jeff Greer, & Steve Butcher  Pacific Northwest  Covington Water District
 Deuces Wild  Jordan Feldman & Michael Tomlan    California/Nevada Las Vegas Valley Water District
Disclaimer: AWWA specifically does not endorse products manufactured by sponsors and takes no position concerning the adequacy of such products or their compliance with any AWWA Standard. AWWA Sections and competitors may use the hydrant of their choice for the regional competition, provided it meets the specifications listed in the competition rules.