Competition Winners| AWWA ACE

Hydrant Hysteria

Congratulations to the 2024 Winners!

Women's Hydrant-Hysteria

First Place: Elsinore Valley Hydrant Belles, California/Nevada Section, 1:31.25
Second Place: Region of Peel Pipe Wenches, Ontario Section, 1:35.19
Third Place: Elsinore Valley Sprinkle Squad, California/Nevada Section, 1:39.50

Men's Hydrant-Hysteria

First Place: Lake Meridian, Pacific Northwest Section, 1:12.66
Second Place: Beaufort Jasper Water and Sewer Authority, South Carolina Section, 1:12.82
Third Place: Los Angeles Dept. of Water and Power, California/Nevada Section, 1:13.87


Top Ops

Congratulations to the 2024 Winners!

First Place: Tulsa Terminators (Steve Thomas, Curt Ellis, Lainee Carner), Southwest Section
Second Place: Str8 Drippin, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission (Robert Nally, Glenn Johnson, Robert Holmberg),Chesapeake Section
Third Place: Chloramine Machines (Riley Smith, Mark Edwards, Matt Walker), Skagit, Washington, Public Utilities District, Pacific Northwest Section
Fourth Place: Reservoir Dawgs (Aaron Caudillo, Monica Vasquez, Mark Taylor), Sacramento Suburban Water District, California/Nevada Section

Pipe Tapping

Congratulations to the 2024 Winners!

Women's Pipe Tapping

First Place: Grit City Grind, Tacoma Water, Pacific Northwest Section, 2:24.72
Second Place: Big D Lady Tappers, Dallas Water Utilities, Texas Section, 2:25.97
Third Place: Alamo City Tappers, San Antonio Water Systems, Texas Section, 2:28.22

Men's Pipe Tapping

First Place: Servicios de Agua y Drenaje de Monterrey Apodaca, Mexico Section, 1:21.65
Second Place: Birmingham Water Works Board, Alabama/Mississippi Section, 1:27.68
Third Place: Big Blue Tappers, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission, Chesapeake Section, 1:30.03
Fourth Place: Denver Water, Rocky Mountain Section, 1:42.79
Fifth Place: Beaufort Jasper Water and Sewer Authority, South Carolina Section, 1:49.63


AWWA Meter Challenge

Congratulations to the 2024 Winners!

First Place: Meter challenge winner is Dennis Laskowski from Texas Section with a time of 33.97
Second Place: Leamon Anderson, Texas Section, 55:19 (includes penalty)
Third Place: Jacob Harrison, Virginia Section, 40:41
Fourth Place: Edward Navarette, South Carolina Section, 46:16

meter challenge winners

Tap Water Taste Tests

2024 Best of the Best Winners

The “Best of the Best” Water Taste Test is comprised of regional AWWA section winners of water taste test competitions.

A panel of esteemed judges rates each water sample on its flavor characteristics.

First Place: City of Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Atlantic Canada Section
Second Place: New Jersey American Water, Camden, NJ
Third Place: Northeast Sammamish Sewer & Water District, Sammamish, WA, Pacific Northwest


2024 People's Choice Competition Winners

The winner of the “People’s Choice” award is determined by conference attendees.

First Place: City of Janesville Water Utility, Wisconsin Section
Second Place: City of Fargo Water Treatment Plant, North Dakota Section
Third Place: Prince William County Service Authority, Virginia Section


Mark Kirkland Volunteer Appreciation Award

Congratulations to the 2023 Recipient

Tony Cuzzone, City of Elmhurst

Tony Cuzzone