Section Education Award

Section Education Award

2019 Recipients

  • California/Nevada Section
  • Connecticut Section
  • Minnesota Section
  • New England Section
  • Pacific Northwest Sectioon
  • Texas Section
  • Western Canada Section

2018 Recipients

  • Intermountain Section
  • Georgia Section
  • New England Section
  • Illinois Section
  • Texas Section
  • Atlantic Canada Section

2017 Recipients

  • Texas Section
  • California-Nevada Section
  • Virginia Section
  • New England Section


Purpose: To recognize AWWA Sections for initiatives that educate water industry personnel, the public, students, or other groups about water and to disseminate guidelines that will enable other AWWA Sections to conduct comparable education activities.

The AwardUp to seven awards may be granted annually. Each winning Section will receive the following:

  • ACE Presentation: The winners will have an opportunity to present their submission at ACE during the, “Lightning Session: Best of Section Education."
  • Web Award: Sections will receive a newly designed web award to display on websites or social media platforms.
  • Award Ceremony at each ACE: Sections will receive an award and recognition at ACE during the AWWA Awards and Section Recognition Celebration.

Frequency: Awarded annually, if deserved.

Eligibility: All AWWA Sections are eligible. Any activity conducted by a Section in training personnel or educating any segment of the public on water issues during the past year is eligible. Each Section will be eligible for only one award per year. Educational activities conducted solely by utilities or other organizations are not eligible. Educational activities submitted must have been developed or introduced during the past year. Section resources will be considered by the award committee.

Entry Requirements: The entry from should be completed and submitted by a Section wishing to be considered for the award no later than Feb. 18, 2020.

Nomination Procedure: All nominations will be made to the Executive Director, who will forward them to the award committee.

Nomination or Submission Deadline: Feb. 18, 2020

Award Committee Membership: The committee shall consist of a chair and five other members, each appointed for a three-year term by the President. Members are eligible to serve two three-year terms. The Chair may serve only one three-year term. One member shall be selected from each of the following groups: the Water Utility Council, the Technical & Education Council and the Public Affairs Council. Two At-Large members will also be appointed. A member from the AWWA staff appointed by the Executive Director shall serve on the awards committee as an advisor without a vote.

Method of Selecting Award Recipient: The award committee will consider and evaluate each Section entry on the basis of innovation, effectiveness, benefits for the water supply industry, the public and also for practical applicability for other AWWA Sections. Winning entries will then be selected, from those submitted. The award committee will have a latitude of contacting entry sponsors for answers to specific questions or for clarification of entry data.