Events Calendar

Event Detail

FREE Webinar from AWWA India: Desalination in India

Tuesday, August 17, 2021 @ 6:00 AM - 7:30 AM

This webinar is at 5:30pm IST (Indian time) = 5:00am PST = 6:00am MST = 8:00am EST 

There are more than 20,000 desalination plants operating across more than 150 countries in the world that generates fresh water for human consumption, agricultural and industrial uses from sea water. The cost of desalination has been dropping as well as the energy usage has been decreasing with advances in technology. Therefore, desalination is considered to be an option in water stressed regions of the world. The desalination of water is achieved through multiple technologies. The most common methods are ion exchange and membrane processes such as electro dialysis reversal (EDR); reverse osmosis (RO) and Nano-filtration (NF). This webinar will discuss the current trends in desalination; importance of pre-treatment prior to EDR, RO or NF and designing low energy RO systems.

Learn more.