| Division Best Paper Award
AWWA Articles

Division Best Paper Award

2018 Recipients

Distribution & Plant Operations Division
“Survival Analysis of US Water Service Lines Utilizing a Nationwide Failure Data Set”
Juneseok Lee and Myles Meehan

Engineering & Construction Division
“Predicting Water Quality Impact After District Metered Area Implementation in a Full-Scale Drinking Water Distribution System”
Vanessa C. F. Dias, Marie-Claude Besner, and Michèle Prévost

Management & Leadership Division
“Estimating the National Costs of Regulating Perchlorate in Drinking Water”
Caroline G. Russell and Kevin M. Morley

Small Systems Division
“State Barriers to Approval of Drinking Water Technologies for Small Systems”
Deanna T. Ringenberg, Steve D. Wilson and Bruce I. Dvorak

Water Conservation Division
“Coefficients for Estimating Landscape Area on Single-Family Residential Lots”
Alan C. Lewis, C. Prakash Khedun, and Ronald A. Kaiser

Water Quality & Technology Division
“Assessment of HAA9 Occurrence and THM, HAA Speciation in the United States”
Carleigh C. Samson, Chad J. Seidel, R. Scott Summers and Timothy Bartrand

Water Resource Sustainability Division
“Impact of Urban Development on Energy Use in a Distribution System”
Hannah G. Wong, Vanessa L. Speight, and Yves R. Filion

Water Science & Research Division
“Scale Formation Under Blended Phosphate Treatment for a Utility with Lead Pipes”
Lauren W. Wasserstrom, Stephanie A. Miller, Simoni Triantafyllidou, Michael K. DeSantis and Michael R. Schock

Award Criteria

Purpose of the Award: To recognize annually the author(s) of outstanding papers from each AWWA division published in JOURNAL AWWA from January through December of the previous year.

The Award: A Division Best Paper Plaque.

Frequency of the Award: Annually.

Eligibility for the Award: All peer-reviewed papers published in Journal AWWA, with at least one author who is an AWWA member at the time of publication are eligible.

Entry Requirements: All papers eligible for the award are automatically considered.

Nomination Procedure: Because all papers meeting the eligibility requirements are considered for the award, there are no nomination procedures.

Division Award Committee Membership:  The division chair shall appoint three members, subject to concurrence by the division Board of Trustees, to serve as the division award committee.  The division chair is authorized to appoint a replacement for any committee member who has conflict of interest.

Method of Selecting Best Paper: The staff shall categorize all eligible papers and assign them to the responsible division awards committees. Each division awards committee shall rate papers assigned to it. The titles of the papers are ranked and submitted by the division award committee chair to AWWA staff before January 15. The top rated paper from each division is forwarded to the Publications Award Committee for selection of the Publications Award.

The Division Best Paper awards will be presented for each division’s top-rated paper at the Awards Session at the American Water Works Association Annual Conference and Exposition.