| AWWA Board elects officers; Dr. Chi Ho Sham new president-elect
AWWA Articles

AWWA Board elects officers; Dr. Chi Ho Sham new president-elect

Dr. Chi Ho Sham, a 30-year member of the American Water Works Association (AWWA) and chair of the Technical & Educational Council and Stormwater Utility Management Committee, is the Association’s next president-elect.

Sham (pictured right), an active member of the New England Section, was one of seven new officers elected by AWWA’s Board of Directors at its annual winter meeting Jan. Dr. Chi Ho Sham25 in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Also elected were the treasurer, three vice presidents, a director-at-large, and a service provider director-at-large.

The new officers will begin their terms in June after AWWA’s Annual Conference & Exposition (ACE20) in Orlando, Fla.

“Water issues are becoming increasingly complex and require interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary thinking and actions to develop innovative and cost-effective solutions,” said Sham, vice president and chief scientist at Eastern Research Group in Lexington, Mass., and a highly-respected specialist in drinking water and source water protection, environmental principles and policy, and natural resource management.

Jon EatonSham plans to support AWWA’s collaboration with The Water Research Foundation, the Water Environment Federation, American Planning Association, and other professional organizations and universities and research entities, to develop innovative solutions using technology and education.

Jon Eaton (pictured left), an AWWA member since 1994, was elected as the Association’s next treasurer. He has served in various roles with the Minnesota Section and is a member of AWWA’s Finance and Pension committees. He is superintendent of utilities for the City of Eagan.

The three vice presidents elected by the AWWA Board are:

•    Jennifer Elms -- AWWA member since 2003, director of the Texas Section and an associate, senior project manager at EHRA, Inc., in Houston.
•    Dr. Stephen Randtke -- AWWA member since 1977, director of the Kansas Section and a professor at the University of Kansas.
•    Patrick Staskiewicz -- AWWA member since 1993, director of the Michigan Section and public utilities director for the Ottawa County Road Commission in Grand Haven.

The Board selected Michelle Stockness of Minneapolis, Minn., as a director-at-large. An AWWA member since 2006, she is chair of the Diversity and Inclusion Subcommittee of the Minnesota Section and a senior civil engineer at Barr Engineering.

Corianne Burnett of Portland, Ore., was selected as a service provider director-at-large. An AWWA member since 2005, she is the newsletter editor and member of the Engineering and Water Treatment committees of the Pacific Northwest Section and a senior engineer at Carollo Engineers.